IDEAS home Printed from https://ideas.repec.org/b/wsi/wsbook/8930.html
   My bibliography  Save this book

Harry S Truman:The Economics of a Populist President

Author

Listed:
  • E Ray Canterbery

    (Florida State University, USA)

Abstract

Harry S Truman is best remembered as the President who witnessed the swift arrival of the Cold War in the tumultuous years after World War Two. Little however has been written to show that he was also the populist President who set the political economic course for the United States to win it merely 40 years later. In this timely biography, E Ray Canterbery captures the spirit of the man, who first and foremost, was a politician who crafted political progams such as the Fair Deal program, full-employment program, New Deal program, reconversion, stabilization, and agriculture progams through the lens of progressiveness. He focuses on Truman's populist economics by charting Truman's early years, the makings of his populist character, his beginnings in Washington, Communism and the Truman Doctrine, the campaign of 1948, the Marshall Plan, the firing of General MacArthur, and the Korean War. While the economic aspects of his term were fundamentally that of war and peace, Canterbery analyses in great depth Truman's economic policies and instruments, such as the Employment Act of 1946 and the President's Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) ¡ª results of Truman's presidency that other authors of books on Truman have largely ignored. Harry S Truman: The Economics of a Populist President shows how Truman should be remembered: As a progressive politician whose populist policies rank him among the ¡°near great¡± Presidents in the tradition of William Jennings Bryan, Theodore Roosevelt, and Woodrow Wilson. Contents: Introduction The Early Years The Political Making of a Populist Mr Truman Goes to Washington The Economics of War and Peace The Employment Act of 1946 and the President's Council of Economic Advisers Communism and the Truman Doctrine The Populist Campaign of 1948 The Marshall Plan Truman's Defining Test: The Korean War Afterward Readership: Economic historians, researchers, students and members of the public who are interested in American history and the early origins of the Cold War.

Suggested Citation

  • E Ray Canterbery, 2014. "Harry S Truman:The Economics of a Populist President," World Scientific Books, World Scientific Publishing Co. Pte. Ltd., number 8930, November.
  • Handle: RePEc:wsi:wsbook:8930
    as

    Download full text from publisher

    File URL: http://www.worldscientific.com/worldscibooks/10.1142/8930
    Download Restriction: Ebook Access is available upon purchase.

    As the access to this document is restricted, you may want to search for a different version of it.

    Corrections

    All material on this site has been provided by the respective publishers and authors. You can help correct errors and omissions. When requesting a correction, please mention this item's handle: RePEc:wsi:wsbook:8930. See general information about how to correct material in RePEc.

    For technical questions regarding this item, or to correct its authors, title, abstract, bibliographic or download information, contact: (Tai Tone Lim). General contact details of provider: http://www.worldscientific.com/page/worldscibooks .

    If you have authored this item and are not yet registered with RePEc, we encourage you to do it here. This allows to link your profile to this item. It also allows you to accept potential citations to this item that we are uncertain about.

    We have no references for this item. You can help adding them by using this form .

    If you know of missing items citing this one, you can help us creating those links by adding the relevant references in the same way as above, for each refering item. If you are a registered author of this item, you may also want to check the "citations" tab in your RePEc Author Service profile, as there may be some citations waiting for confirmation.

    Please note that corrections may take a couple of weeks to filter through the various RePEc services.

    IDEAS is a RePEc service hosted by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis . RePEc uses bibliographic data supplied by the respective publishers.