IDEAS home Printed from
MyIDEAS: Login to save this article or follow this journal

A computable general equilibrium model of the city: impacts of technology, zoning, and trade

  • Craig Olwert
  • Jean-Michel Guldmann
Registered author(s):

    This paper presents a computable general equilibrium model of a stylized linear city that simultaneously minimizes transportation costs while satisfying labor, and, and goods equilibrium conditions, in the tradition of Anas and Kim, while introducing a monetary balance. This model has structural similarity with Davis’s design of an optimal transportation system under user equilibrium conditions. The model includes three industries: manufacturing, retail, and services. Their economic transactions are empirically modeled using national input – output data, which allows for the endogenous determination of import and export pricing and flows. Numerical applications show that more efficient transportation increases utility and leads to a centralization of the population, and that zoning, under various restriction scenarios, decreases utility, with the most detrimental effects on residents in unrestricted zones. Finally, a zero trade deficit scenario results in lower utility, a larger transportation system, and smaller residential lots, with higher CBD population density. Keywords:  computable general equilibrium, land use and transportation, regional planning, trade, zoning, input – output data

    If you experience problems downloading a file, check if you have the proper application to view it first. In case of further problems read the IDEAS help page. Note that these files are not on the IDEAS site. Please be patient as the files may be large.

    File URL:
    File Function: abstract
    Download Restriction: Fulltext access restricted to subscribers, see for details

    File URL:
    File Function: main text
    Download Restriction: Fulltext access restricted to subscribers, see for details

    As the access to this document is restricted, you may want to look for a different version under "Related research" (further below) or search for a different version of it.

    Article provided by Pion Ltd, London in its journal Environment and Planning A.

    Volume (Year): 44 (2012)
    Issue (Month): 1 (January)
    Pages: 237-253

    in new window

    Handle: RePEc:pio:envira:v:44:y:2012:i:1:p:237-253
    Contact details of provider: Web page:

    No references listed on IDEAS
    You can help add them by filling out this form.

    This item is not listed on Wikipedia, on a reading list or among the top items on IDEAS.

    When requesting a correction, please mention this item's handle: RePEc:pio:envira:v:44:y:2012:i:1:p:237-253. See general information about how to correct material in RePEc.

    For technical questions regarding this item, or to correct its authors, title, abstract, bibliographic or download information, contact: (Neil Hammond)

    If you have authored this item and are not yet registered with RePEc, we encourage you to do it here. This allows to link your profile to this item. It also allows you to accept potential citations to this item that we are uncertain about.

    If references are entirely missing, you can add them using this form.

    If the full references list an item that is present in RePEc, but the system did not link to it, you can help with this form.

    If you know of missing items citing this one, you can help us creating those links by adding the relevant references in the same way as above, for each refering item. If you are a registered author of this item, you may also want to check the "citations" tab in your profile, as there may be some citations waiting for confirmation.

    Please note that corrections may take a couple of weeks to filter through the various RePEc services.

    This information is provided to you by IDEAS at the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis using RePEc data.